Apology #1

Dear Girl Who Brought Over 100 Cookies to the Holiday Party,

Even though you didn’t say it, I bet you were thinking and you’re right, I thought “Wow, no wonder she’s fat.” when you brought those cookies. Yes, I judged you in a way I wouldn’t have judged a skinny girl for saying that baking was her stress reliever. I judged you for one of the things I’m always afraid people will judge me for. Just because you’re fat and you brought lots of cookies doesn’t mean you eat too much. In fact, it means you’re really nice because those cookies were delicious.

I’m always afraid to eat in public or bake or give people food (especially the home made kind) for this reason, but I usually do those three things anyway. None of those things are bad, eating in public is an accepted way of being social, baking is an accepted hobby and giving people food is very welcome. However, once these things are done by someone who is deemed to have an “unhealthy” weight, we are at risk of being judged. And even though I feared the judgement, I’ll admit I am a hypocrite.

I’m sorry, and I hope you keep baking.

February 1, 2010. Tags: . Apologies.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

